Our office keeps on file birth certificates of people born in McLean County from 1860 on. For birth certificates of people not born in McLean County, please contact either the county of birth or the Illinois Department of Public Health Division of Vital Records at (217) 782-6553 or -6554 (10 am - 3 pm). By law, we cannot make corrections to your birth record. Contact the Illinois Department of Public Health-Vital Records for corrections.
Cost: $15 for the first certified copy, $9 for each additional copy of the same record, when purchased at the same time. Each time you order, the first copy costs $15.
To obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate, you must be one of the following:
Of legal age (18, or an emancipated minor with certified court documentation), if requesting your own.
The parent (listed on the certificate) of the child whose certificate is being requested.
A legal guardian with certified court documentation proving verification of guardianship.
A legal representative, for example, an attorney acting on behalf of the person named on the birth certificate (must have authorized documentation).
An agent approved by the state registrar.
An agent authorized by power of attorney.
An agent having a notarized letter from any of the above, authorizing your access to the record.
If the certificate has been on file for 75 years or longer, anyone with a genealogical interest may obtain a non-certified copy of the certificate, stamped "for genealogical purposes only."
Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death, or marriage certificates. The McLean County Clerk's Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital records are not considered public information, neither are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
All requests, whether they are made in person, by mail or online, must be accompanied by the unexpired Driver's License, State ID or passport of the requestor, or the request will not be fulfilled.
Original ID must be presented in person; by mail or online, provide a copy of the ID.
If you do not have any of these forms of identification, contact our office by calling (309) 888-5190 for more options.
|I want to obtain my certified copy...||ID type needed||Payment options|
|In Person||original||Cash or check made out to McLean County Clerk; credit or debit (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express)|
|By Mail||copy||Check or money order made out to McLean County Clerk|
|Credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express)|
Note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding vital records.
If you have an urgent need for a vital record, please visit the Illinois Department of Public Health.
I also need another type of record:
Birth Certificate of a Deceased Person
Note: Vital Records (birth, death, marriage and civil union certificates) are not public records, and therefore are not subject to the Freedom of Information Act.