About Evergreen Lake
Evergreen Lake offers a wide array of fishing challenges, including large mouth bass, small mouth bass, crappie, hybrid walleye (saugeye), muskie, white bass, bluegill, channel catfish, and flat head catfish. EVERGREEN LAKE REMAINS A 10 hp LIMIT LAKE. View the new interactive depth map of Evergreen Lake or download a printable map of Evergreen Lake (PDF).
Additional lake details include:
- Surface acres - 925 acres
- Maximum depth - 55 feet
- Average depth - 19 feet
- Shoreline miles - 22.5 miles
Boat Rental & Bait Shop Hours - NOW CLOSED FOR THE SEASON.
The Evergreen Lake Boat Rental & Bait Shop will start it's Late Summer/Fall Hours beginning Tuesday, September 8, 2020. The hours will be as follows: Boat Rental - Open Saturdays, & Sundays from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. The Boat Rental will be closed Monday through Friday.NOTE - THE PONTOON WILL STILL BE AVAILABLE TO RESERVE/RENT 8:00 A.M. TO 4:00 P.M. EVERY DAY. Bait Shop - Open 7 days per week from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The Evergreen Lake Boat Rental & Bait Shop will close for the season on Oct. 11, 2020.
Fishery Management Plan
In cooperation with the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, the McLean County Department of Parks and Recreation has implemented an ongoing, long-term fishery management plan for Evergreen Lake. Since 1990, nearly 75,000 4-8 inch large-mouth bass, 20,000 8-11 inch pure musky, and 1,000,000 1-2 inch hybrid walleye (saugeye) have been stocked in the lake, with very good success.
EVERGREEN LAKE REGULATIONS
-Anglers must possess a valid Illinois Fishing License as REQUIRED by law.
-Anglers using boats are limited to using a 10 Horsepower (or less) motor. -Gas motors are prohibited in certain sections of Southern Portions of the Lake from Oct 15th – Jan 1st (To allow for migratory waterfowl)
No person shall take or catch any fish or aquatic life from Evergreen Lake, Jones Pond, or their tributaries by any other method than stated:
- By means of not more than: 2 Poles and line with no more than
- 2 hooks or lures attached to each (including trolling).
- By means of legal sized cast nets, which may be used to obtain the following bait (provided they are not sold): Shad, Minnows, & Crayfish
- By means of: Pitchfork, Gigs, Bow and Arrow (or their devices) for the taking of: Carp, Asian Carp, Carpsuckers, Buffalo Gar, Bowfin, and Suckers. (Except during Illinois Archery Deer Season)
- By means of a Gig for taking frogs. (Frogs may be taken in open season only).
PROHIBITED FISHING PRACTICES
-Bank Poles, Trot Lines, Bush Lines, Seining, or Jug Fishing are Prohibited.
-Swimming, Wading, and Float Fishing are prohibited.
UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED, ALL STATE OF ILLINOIS FISHING REGULATIONS WILL BE ENFORCED.
-Fishing in, below or beyond the spillway is prohibited. *Cast netting prohibited below spillway
*Asian Carp are now present in the Mackinaw River and its tributaries.
FISH SIZE REGULATIONS
The minimum size and creel limits, in addition to those stated by the Illinois statewide fishing regulations are:
|Fish||Size||Daily Creel Limit|
(Black, White, and Hybrid)
|No size limit||15|
*Required on all watercraft* (Sailboats, sailboards, canoes, and kayaks, etc.)
Registrations can be done at the COMLARA Park Visitors Center during office hours, at self-registration drop boxes located at both boat launch facilities, and online at our website.
Type of McLean County Non-County
Registration Residents NON-Residents
Daily $15.00 $20.00
Annual $38.00 $48.00
*10 horsepower or less motor restriction
*10+ motors are allowed for loading and unloading, but must otherwise remain out of the water.
BAIT SHOP OPEN APRIL - OCT. OPENS FRIDAY, MAY 29, 2020
Hours and bait availability may vary. STARTING FRIDAY, MAY 29, 2020 HOURS WILL BE 6:00 A.M. TO 6:00 P.M.
Lake Closed During Deer Management Program (Firearm): Friday - Sunday before Thanksgiving Weekend & Thursday - Sunday after Thanksgiving Weekend
SEASONAL WATERCRAFT MOORING
Dock Mooring for Boats/Canoes
$450.00 for NON-McLean County Residents & $350.00 for McLean County Residents
Mooring for Canoes/Kayaks
$75.00 for NON-McLean County Residents & $55.00 for McLean County Residents